First Presbyterian Church of Lafayette

A Place to Experience, Explore, and Express the Love of God



Pastor: The Rev. Zach Sasser

A native of Georgia, Zach and his family moved to Lafayette in 2010 to serve as our Pastor. He holds Masters degrees in Christian Education and Divinity from Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, VA. Zach has served congregations in Virginia and Georgia from the mountains to the coast. His passion is connecting faith with everyday living and encouraging a lifestyle of responsiveness to Godʼs grace. Zach believes his calling as a husband and father is a gift from God, and you may see him around town coaching soccer or lifting his children to catch beads on a passing float

Director of Music: Matt Steinbron

Dr. Matt Steinbron conducts our Chancel Choir, plays the organ and piano, and coordinates special musical offerings throughout the year. Matt studied at the University of Wisconsin and earned his PhD in Music Theory at Louisiana State University. He is currently the Coordinator and Assistant Professor of Music Theory at the University of Louisiana, Lafayette. Matt has always had a passion for church music, being the grandson of a Presbyterian Minister, and has served in Lutheran and Roman Catholic congregations. Having recently joined our staff, he is enjoying reconnecting with his Reformed roots.

Office Manager: Frank Sherard

We are proud to have Frank Sherard as a member of our team. In addition to keeping us "ship shape", Frank is a Naval Officer, an ordained Pastor in the Disciples of Christ Church, the husband to a Disciples church planter, and a father to three amazing children!   

Congregational Leadership

Leadership in the Presbyterian Church (USA) is representative and from the grass roots rather than administered from the top down. In the local congregation, the governing council is called the Session. Representatives elected by the congregation to serve two year terms on the Session are called Ruling Elders. Session meetings are moderated by our Pastor, who is also known as a Teaching Elder. The Clerk is the chief recording officer, responsible for communications, record keeping, and reports to higher governing councils. Sessions are often organized into ministry teams or committees. Deacons are also elected for ministries related to serving the needs of the congregation. Our current Leadership includes:


Monique Peddy

Clerk of Session


Julie Clement

Christian Education Chair

Richard Hebert

Property Committee

Tiffany Steward

Personnel Chair

Wendy Mayfield

Worship Chair


Linda Smart

Christian Education Committee

Anne Rachal

Property Chair

Bob Luckey

Nominating Committee

Jan Harrelson

Outreach and Service Chair


Rose Marcus

Member Care

Masie Underwood

Member Care

Tom Foard

Stewardship and Finance

Rush Caldwell


Melanie Schoeffler


Al Pfeuffer

Stewardship and Finance